Peshawar Zalmi Dump Islamabad United To Reach Third Consecutive PSL Final

There is a reason why Darren Sammy loves Pakistan and the Pakistanis love him; since the World T20 winning West Indian Captain has taken over the leadership of Peshawar Zalmi, the team has reached every final of PSL and for the third time in as many years, the Men in Yellow have beaten the better team in the tournament to make it to the grand finale.

Islamabad United won the toss and elected to field against Darren Sammy’s in-form team, and that was their biggest mistake. In the first 12 overs, the Peshawar Zalmi openers Kamran Akmal and Imam ul Haq added 135 runs for the first wicket and took the match away from the defending champions. Kieron Pollard and Darren Sammy also scored 37 and unbeaten 30 runs respectively to post a gigantic total of 214 for the loss of 5 wickets. Cameron Delport was the pick of the bowlers for the Islamabad side while Shadab Khan took the other wicket to fall.

Chasing 215 runs to reach the final, Islamabad United started slow, and when their last-match hero Alex Hales departed cheaply, with him went all their hopes of defending the title. Despite Chadwick Walton’s 48 and Faheem Ashraf’s 31, Mohammad Sami’s side managed to score only 166 runs for the loss of 9 wickets. Hassan Ali and Chris Jordan took 3 wickets each to help their side reach the final for the third time in as many years.

Peshawar Zalmi will now face Quetta Gladiators in the final of the PSL 4 on March 17 where the best players of this season will play against each other in an attempt to win the title. If Peshawar Zalmi wins, it will be their second triumph at the PSL whereas in case Quetta manages to lift the trophy, it will be a fairy tale end for the Karachi Kid Sarfaraz Ahmed, who will play in front of his people, but with the team of a different city.


Omair Alavi

Read Previous

Air Force Film Sherdil’s Soundtrack Fails To Make An Impact

Read Next

Will Smith pays tribute to late Robin Williams’ original ‘Genie’