England Outclass Australia On Its Way To World Cup Final

England Outclass

England Outclass

Jason Roy Helps England Outclass Australia In One-Sided Semi-Final

Thanks to Jason Roy’s quickfire knock, England managed to Outclass Australia by 8 wickets in the second semi-final of the World Cup. For the first time since 1992, England managed to reach the grand finale of the mega event, and will be hoping to make it count as a win this time.

Australia Won The Toss, But Lost The Battle!

The defending champions won the toss and elected to bat, but the famed batting line-up messed up big time in the opening overs. By the 7th over, Australia had lost three of their top four batsmen including Captain Aaron Finch and the in-form David Warner. Steven Smith (85) and Alex Carey (46) tried to rebuild the innings but could only steer their side to 223 all out in 49 overs.

Woakes, Rashid Terrorize Defending Champions As England Outclass Australia

Chris Woakes and Adil Rashid took three wickets each as England managed to restrict the Aussies in the battle for the final. Joffra Archer continued his amazing run with two crucial wickets including Finch and Glenn Maxwell.

Jason Roy Hits Aussies Out Of The World Cup

Before the semi-final, experts said that if Jason Roy scored, England would win the match. This is exactly what happened as the English opener scored 85 runs off 65 balls, including three massive sixes off Steven Smith. It was his innings that laid the foundation of England’s first semi-final win since 1992!

Root, Morgan chip in to help England Outclass Australia

Joe Root and Eoin Morgan did their job well and they destroyed Australian bowling on their way to the final.  Root (49) and Morgan (45) remained unbeaten as England managed to reach the target in the 33rd over. Australian bowling’s spearhead series Mitchell Starc went for 70 runs off his 9 overs, while Steven Smith’s only over cost his side 21 runs.

England or New Zealand – Who’ll rule the World?

Both England and New Zealand have played in a World Cup final but neither has managed to win the trophy before. England were the finalists in 1979, 1987 and 1992 but lost on all three occasions while Kiwis lost to Australia four years back in their only final. Whoever wins, one thing is certain, there will be a new World Champion on July 14, who will rule the World for the next four years.

Read all there is to know about Afghan Bowler Aftab Alam’s suspension

Omair Alavi

Read Previous

Iqra Aziz Takes a Dig at Haters on Social Media over Engagement with Yasir Hussain

Read Next

‘Behka Na’ from Parey Hut Love Will Take You on a Melodious Ride